Generations of Love

Posted: January 31, 2014 in Uncategorized

A listener wrote and asked why I have yet to play Culture Club and/or Boy George. My bad! Given Mr. O’Dowd was a sun-of-a-lover back in the day (and now still, I imagine!), how could I not include him in the V-Day show coming up on the 14th? 🙂

Do you celebrate Valentine’s Day?

To be honest, my wife and I do not. It’s a money-making holiday created for you to gorge on sweets, overpriced food, cards, feigned affection and to spend ungodly amounts of money on factory flowers that die within a few days.  It’s an opinion… but is it really? Shouldn’t you love year round without having to be directed? Just sayin’….

Anyway, here’s a list of every day love in my life:

– My wife. I love her every single day!

– My furry sons. I love them every single day!

– Music. A lifelong love that never dies.

– Being my boss. A love-hate, that one! 😉

– Art. Total expressions of love, up to interpretation, of course!

– Friends. A solid love.

– Spicy foods. Love with sometime-consequences.

– Political books. Passionate and sometimes maddening love.

All of this to say that SUBCULTURE’S V-day show will be one of love, longing, remembrance, fuck you and power. I hope to bring you powerful songs and powerful women voices in honor of, “V-Day” and “ONE BILLION RISING.”

So join in on the love, won’t you? 🙂 Friday, February 14th at 8pm.

SUBCULTURE, fridays 8-10p US EST, 103.3fm, listen live online: valleyfreeradio.org

Leave a Reply

