Woot! Daft Punk Selfie and Duran Duran

Posted: January 13, 2014 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Image

The wife ordered cell covers for our new phones: Complimenting black and white Daft Punk / Frida Kahlo jobbies. Lurve it!

Good, good stuff coming up on this week’s program and coming soon…

TWO HOURS OF DURAN DURAN. (You’re shocked, I know.)

For the newbies here,  I am a full-on Duranie and have been for many, many, many, many frickin’ years. They were a big part of the reason I got into music, radio, and producing. I have barrels full of memorabilia & collectibles, all of my tattoos are Durand-out, I was lucky enough in my career and as a fan to interview and meet them many a time, and in case you haven’t noticed, 95% of SUBCULTURE shows begin with a Duran Duran song (and that’s a fact!)

When I was a teen, my room was plastered ceiling to floor with Duran Duran posters. One day, having had enough, my mom threw back her arm and swiped all of the posters down, ripping them to shreds. (Seriously, as a teen, this was the most devastating thing ever, right?) LUCKILY, 25+ years later, my posters (and a whole lot more) returned… in the form of an amazing four-pound book.

Thank you *Durandy*, Andrew Golub. Thank you for releasing perhaps the most awesome reminder that Duran WAS NOT a boy band, but were (and remain) pioneers of modern music. If you have not snagged your copy yet, I urge you to purchase Mr. Golub’s amazing book, “Beautiful Colors: The Posters of Duran Duran,” right now. It features a foreword by Nick Rhodes and pics of posters you will remember, wish you had, and will look to collect.

HOLD IT! Simon and me in Boston. Yerp! 😉

Image

Tune into SUBCULTURE every Friday evening on WXOJ 103.3fm in Northampton, MA, USA from 8p-10p EST

or live online worldwide at: valleyfreeradio.org

Leave a Reply

